Wednesday, August 31, 2011

Odd Future And Jay Electronica Sign New Deals With Sony/ATV Music Publishing

Odd Future Wolfgang Kill Them All (Odd Future for short) is an LA based collective founded by 20 year old Tyler the Creator. Their fanbase has completely snowballed with a dozen acclaimed self-released albums; notorious live shows that sell out in minutes in the US and overseas; a Billboard Magazine cover article; a take-over of Austin’s SXSW conference; public co-signs from the likes of Kanye West, Jay-Z and Eminem; and performances at world renowned festivals like Coachella and Primavera.

Tyler the Creators’ first label-supported album, GOBLIN, was released on XL Records this May, debuting in Soundscan’s Top 5. Besides Tyler the Creator, Odd Future’s official members that are included in our deal are Hodgy Beats, Left Brain, Mike G, Syd The Kyd, and Domo Genesis. Hodgy and Left Brain will release an album this summer via their group MellowHype on Fat Possum Records July 12, 2011. For their future releases, Odd Future have now formed their own record label, Odd Future Records, to be distributed RED.

Fans can expect an Odd Future compilation album by the end of this year. Besides their upcoming album releases, other news in the works for Odd Future include a TV show with Adult Swim/Dickhouse Productions and festivals in Europe and Australia. OF is managed by Christian Clancy, David Airaudi and Kelly Clancy of 4 Strikes and 3 Qtr.  (via press release)

Sony/ATV is extremely excited to announce a worldwide publishing deal with up-and-coming hip-hop superstar, Jay Electronica. He is signed to Roc Nation/Columbia Records through Jay-Z. The self-proclaimed "wizard" has a huge buzz in the hip-hop underground scene. Sony/ATV is expecting a timeless, classic hip-hop album while also developing Jay Electronica as a producer for other acts.  (via press release)

No comments:

Post a Comment