Monday, July 6, 2009

Crown City Rockers announce new album "The Day After Forever"

Crown City Rockers "The Day After Forever" out September 29th on Gold Dust Media

(via press release)
Bay Area true school hip-hop soldiers Crown City Rockers have linked with Brooklyn based Gold Dust to release their upcoming album, The Day After Forever. The first album since 2004's Earth Tones, the album represents the culmination of years thrilling fans on the road, fine tuning their sound, and collaborating with like minded hip-hop artists.

Crown City Rockers have built a reputation for their driving sound derived from live instruments fused with traditional hip-hop production, which makes their live shows particularly dynamic. Emcee Rashaan Ahmad commands the crowd in the tradition of the block party greats, with a tight backing group infusing funk energy into the bouncy hip-hop sound.

Though the group has remained intact, the album represents a reunion of sorts, as many of the contributors have been focusing on solo projects recently. Rashaan Ahamad's solo album Push (2008) furthered his reputation as a party rocker par excellence, which he supported through tours with People Under The Stairs, Common Market, and others. Bassist/producer Headnodic recently helmed the boards for last year's Mighty Underdogs project on Definitive Jux with emcees Gift of Gab and Lateef from the Quannum camp, and keyboardist Kat recently completed a solo project and is currently working with People Under The Stairs' Thes One.

The Day After Forever will be followed by an extensive US tour.

Crown City Rockers "The Day After Forever" tracklist:

1. Intro
2. Break
3. Soul
4. Kiss
5. Go On
6. Astroshocks
7. Go Away
8. Crusin'
9. Let's Love
10. Clap Your Hands
11. Make It Hotter
12. That's Life
13. The Forever Song

No comments:

Post a Comment