Thursday, November 19, 2009

Lil Wayne, Eminem, Mary J. Blige & Young Money Comp. Now Arrive Dec. 21

Following in Usher's street date foot steps, Universal Music Group has decided to stage their key releases to come out the week of Christmas on Monday, December 21.

12/21 new releases are as follows:

December 21, 2009
Usher - Raymond vs. Raymond (Jive/Zomba/Laface)
Young Money - We Are Young Money (Universal/Motown/Young Money)
Mary J. Blige - Stronger With Each Tear (Geffen/Matriarch)
Eminem - Relapse: Refill (Interscope/Shady/Aftermath)
Lil Wayne - Rebirth (Cash Money/Universal)

This is a very usual move by the major labels that is not typically seen from previous holiday selling seasons.

Some of these artists/releases don't even have a radio picture built yet which normally goes along with each release's set up for the marketplace.

As this year's economy has taken a toll on the populous pocketbook, the major labels probably figure if anyone is going to spend any of their hard earned cash it would be the week of Christmas.

Do you think the major labels are doing a good thing by releasing their biggest titles the week of Christmas?

No comments:

Post a Comment